ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review | Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Title: Dear Emmie Blue
Author: Lia Louis 
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published On: July 14, 2020
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Source: ebook
Pages: 320

Synopsis: At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached address, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such a thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over

My thoughts

(Spoiler free)

Dear Emmie Blue, you have stolen my heart! This book was nowhere on my radar, but when I was invited to read it from the publisher—and I saw those first few glowing reviews—I jumped at the chance to read it. I’m a sucker for romance and serendipity, and Emmie Blue did not disappoint.

“It’s weird, but in moments like this…. our cheeks aching from laughing, with nothing to do but to make up silly games to pass the time, with cold lemonades at our feet, the sun in the sky, and nothing but lovely plans for the next few days, it feels almost risky to be this happy. It feels like I am goading all the things that could go wrong, to happen.”

Lia Louis, Dear Emmie Blue

Emmie has had a hard start at life. Her story slowly unfolds, gradually enveloping the reader until you can’t stop reading. Even though I’ve read similar stories, this one was different and refreshing. I wanted to find out what happened but I also didn’t want it to end. 

While the premise of this one—finding a balloon with a note on the beach—may sound juvenile, it wasn’t at all. It worked, and left me with all kinds of feelings. I laughed and cried along with Emmie. I wanted only the best for her.

This is a romance with depth and heart. Lia Louis has created characters that are real, flawed, and changing, something I always appreciate. I would say this one was just about perfect. My only complaint: I need the songs on Emmie’s Mix CDs pronto!

Thank you to the publisher, Atria/Emily Bestler Books, and Netgalley for providing me with an advance copy.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5)

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo | Indiebound | Bookshop

About the Author

Lia Louis
Lia Louis

Lia Louis lives in the United Kingdom with her partner and three young children. Before raising a family, she worked as a freelance copywriter and proofreader. She was the 2015 winner of Elle magazine’s annual writing competition and has been a contributor for Bloomsbury’s Writers and Artist’s blog for aspiring writers. She is the author of Somewhere Close to Happy and Dear Emmie Blue. (Photograph by Patrick Harboun)

A Song For A Book

On Bookstagram I created a hashtag for when I include a song that reminds me of the book I’m sharing, #ASongForABook, I thought I’d make it a regular feature on my reviews, too.

In Dear Emmie Blue, Lucas sends Emmie Mix CDs with an explanation for why each song was selected. While the book doesn’t reveal what the songs are, I did find a Q&A with the author where she listed a few of the songs and artists that would be included (Eva Cassidy, Joni Mitchell, and Emmie’s obsession, Bon Jovi). I also decided to take the descriptions from the Mix CD Vol. 1 and pick my own tracks! I’ve also included my entire Dear Emmie Blue inspired Spotify playlist below. 🙂

Mix CD Vol. 1
Track 1. Because you nailed your French oral
“Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas)” by Regina Spektor
Track 2. Because your taste in boy bands needs desperate help

“Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles
Track 3. Because your surname is Blue

“Flame Turns Blue” by David Gray
Track 4. Because all you eat is fried egg and chips

“Eggs & Chips” by Manic Cough
Track 5. Because you will always have me

“Time After Time” by Eva Cassidy

Have you read Dear Emmie Blue? Did you add it to your tbr? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Wandering!

11 thoughts on “ARC Book Review | Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis”

  1. When I first read the synopsis of this one, I thought it would be too youngish for me. You have changed my mind. I will be adding this one, great review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *