TBR Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books With Musical Covers On My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and is now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week a new theme is suggested for bloggers to participate in. This week’s prompt is a Cover Freebie (choose your own topic, centered on book covers or cover art).

Hello Readers! Last week I celebrated my first blog birthday with a one year blogiversary giveaway! If you haven’t entered yet, be sure to check that out. It runs all month! We’ve been enjoying a few scattered days of cooler weather here in Texas, and the changing season is a welcome distraction from the weariness that is life right now.

Something I’ve been doing a lot of lately for distraction is reading. Which is great since I have a lot of ARCs for September and October. I’m currently reading (and loving) The Lost Love Song by Minnie Darke, and the lovely cover got me thinking about musical book covers.

Besides books, music is my next favorite thing, so anytime I can combine the two, I do. Here’s the top ten books with musical covers on my TBR!

(Link to Goodreads synopsis through book title.)

1

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon

From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken identity kicks off a string of (fake) events that just may lead to (real) love.

Super Fake Love Song is the next book by David Yoon and it features a fake band!! How fun will this one be?? It’s out in November of this year.

2

The Happy Ever Playlist by Abby Jimenez

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Friend Zone comes an adorable and fresh romantic comedy about one trouble-making dog who brings together two perfect strangers.

The Happy Ever Playlist came out earlier this year and it sounds super cute. I’m on board pretty much anytime the word ‘playlist’ is in the title. The musical aspect of this cover is more subtle with the couple sharing the headphones. Too cute!

3

More Than Maybe by Erin Hahn

Like your favorite song, More Than Maybe burrows inside your heart and stays there. Vada and Luke’s story of music, family, and first love will shoot to the top of your book playlist. A rich, sweet, rock and roll ride.” – Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

More Than Maybe came out this summer and it sounds like one I will enjoy! Headphones seem to be a big player for musical covers this year.

4

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Timesbestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.

I read a sneak peek of The Kingdom of Back, a YA fantasy historical fiction book about Mozart’s sister, and I was hooked. I still haven’t picked it up yet, though. You might have to look a little harder to find the musical aspect of this cover.

5

The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen

Never ask a question unless you’re sure you want the truth. I’ve been listening to my father sing for my whole life. I carry him in my pocket on my mp3 player. It’s just that we’ve never met face to face.

The Accidentals is a lesser-known young adult novel that came out in 2018. It has over four stars on Goodreads, and sounds like it will be an emotional read.

6

Songbook by Nick Hornby

Songs, songwriters, and why and how they get under our skin… Songbook is Nick Hornby’s labor of love. A shrewd, funny, and completely unique collection of musings on pop music, why it’s good, what makes us listen and love it so much, and the ways in which it attaches itself to our lives—all with the beat of a perfectly mastered mix tape.

Songbook is a collection of non-fiction essays about music. I own this little book and I’m anxious to get to it!

7

Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.

You had me at When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. Shuffle, Repeat sounds oh-so cute. You might have to look hard for the musical aspect on this cover, too!

8

This Ordinary Life by Jennifer Walkup

Sometimes hope is the most extraordinary gift of all. High-school radio host Jasmine Torres’s life is full of family dysfunction, but if she can score the internship of her dreams with a New York City radio station, she knows she can turn things around. 

I’m not sure where I came across this little YA novel, but This Ordinary Life only has about 100 reviews on Goodreads. It has characters with epilepsy, which is a condition I don’t see represented often in books.

9

Everything Changes by Jonathan Tropper

Charged with intelligence and razor sharp wit, Everything Changes is at once hilarious, moving, sexy, and wise.

I’m a big fan of Jonathan Tropper. Everything Changes is waiting on my shelf, ready to be read.

10

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, This Song Will Save Your Life is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

This Song Will Save Your Life is an older YA novel that’s been on my TBR for years. This musical book about friends sounds unique! (And look, more headphones!)

Have you read any of these? Can you think of other book covers with a musical influence? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Wandering!

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books With Musical Covers On My TBR”

  1. FUN topic! Love that a current read inspired the subject. 🙂 “This Song will Save Your Life” is one I think I looked at a long time ago, but don’t remember if it was one I thought would be a good reader fit for me or not. I’ll have to look it up again. Also, your current read’s cover is pretty! 🙂

  2. What an awesome list! David Yoon’s book is absolutely stunning and that premise sounds so fun. Definitely adding it to my TBR now! I also definitely need to look into more musical books because these all sound amazing 🙂

  3. I almost put The Kingdom of Back on my list this week, but I put Rebel instead and limited my books to one per author. It is so detailed! And yes, the musical theme is definitely there among the details.

    I saw the new David Yoon book on Bookish first and it looks cute. I’ll have to read the preview.

  4. Oh I really like the Super Fake Love Song cover and I’ve heard lots of good things about David Yoon’s books so this might have to be added to the TBR. This is an interesting idea — I don’t think I particularly seek out musical books, although I have read Daisy Jones & The Six, naturally! I will keep a better eye out

    1. I loved Yoon’s debut, Frankly in Love, so I have high hopes for his newest. And can you believe I own a physical and the audiobook of Daisy Jones but I haven’t read it yet?? I know. It’s embarrassing. Ha! Now I think I’m afraid it just won’t live up to the hype. 😉

  5. I love your take on today’s prompt! So creative 🙂 I haven’t seen a lot of these covers before but The Kingdom of Back is definitely one of the most beautiful covers I have on my shelf and also one of my faves from this year. I really need to read the book too! Lol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *