TBR

My November TBR

Hello Readers! My November TBR may look similar to My October TBR. I ended up shifting some books around when I decided to participate in Nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month) again this year. I try not to read anything too consuming while I’m writing. This will be my sixth year to participate, and while part of me just wanted to sit this year out—I was feeling creatively drained—the thought of skipping 2020 made me sad.

My TBR this month looks like a smorgasbord of random books. I’m down to those last few prompts on my Popsugar Reading Challenge that I’ve skipped all year, but it’s not necessarily because I didn’t want to read them, other books just took precedence.

November is when the next year’s Popsugar Reading Challenge is typically released, and for me it’s like Christmas Day! I have fun trying to plug books from my physical and digital shelves into the prompts—even though I tend to end up reading completely different books for them. 😉

Here’s what I’m hoping to read this month!

(Link to Goodreads synopsis through book title.)

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

I’d planned on finishing this one by Halloween, but I didn’t make it. I’m almost done with it now. I haven’t been as impressed with it as I’d hoped. I’ve disliked more than I’ve enjoyed.

Synopsis:

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters


My Calamity Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

This is my current read on my ereader. I’m only a few chapters in, but I’m enjoying it! This will cross off my Western prompt on my Popsugar Challenge. I was a fan of the first two Janies and I picked this one up without even reading the synopsis. I had no idea it was about werewolves. Ha!

Synopsis:

Welcome ​to 1876 and a rootin’-tootin’ America bursting with gunslingers, outlaws, and garou.

JANE (a genuine hero-eene)

Calamity’s her name, and garou hunting’s her game—when she’s not starring in Wild Bill’s Traveling Show, that is. She reckons that if a girl wants to be a legend, she should just go ahead and be one.

FRANK (*wolf whistle*)
Frank “the Pistol Prince” Butler is the Wild West’s #1 bachelor. He’s also the best sharpshooter on both sides of the Mississippi, but he’s about to meet his match. . . .

ANNIE (get your gun!)
Annie Oakley (yep, that Annie) is lookin’ for a job, not a romance, but she can’t deny there’s something about Frank she likes. Really likes. Still, she’s pretty sure that anything he can do, she can do better.

A HAIRY SITUATION
After a garou hunt goes south and Jane finds a suspicious-like bite on her arm, she turns tail for Deadwood, where there’s been talk of a garou cure. But things ain’t always what they seem—meaning the gang better hightail it after her before they’re a day late and a Jane short.


The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

One of the prompts on the Popsugar Fall Challenge is to read a book that includes Black joy. I think this one will work… maybe one of you can tell me for sure. But I’ve been wanting to read this YA novel that’s been waiting on my shelf for awhile, anyway. 😉

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?


My Last Continent by Midge Raymond

Another prompt on my regular Popsugar Challenge is to read the first book you touch on a shelf with your eyes closed. My Last Continent is the one I touched, and I’ve been saving it for cooler weather.

Synopsis:

This unforgettable debut, set against the dramatic Antarctic landscape, is “refreshingly different, vivid and immediate. Midge Raymond has an extraordinary gift for description that puts the reader bang in the middle of its dangerous and endangered world” (M.L. Stedman, New York Times bestselling author of The Light Between Oceans).

It is only among the glacial mountains, cleaving icebergs, and frigid waters of Antarctica that Deb Gardener and Keller Sullivan feel at home. For a few blissful weeks each year they study the habits of Emperor and Adelie penguins and find solace in their work and in one another. But Antarctica, like their fleeting romance, is a fragile place, imperiled by the world to the north.


Each year, Deb and Keller play tour guide to the passengers on the small expedition ship that ferries them to their research station. But this year, when Keller fails to appear on board, Deb begins to reconsider their complicated past and the uncertainty of any future they might share. Then, shortly into the journey, Deb’s ship receives an emergency signal from The Australis, a cruise liner that has hit desperate trouble in the ice-choked waters of the Southern Ocean. Soon Deb’s role will change from researcher to rescuer; among the crew of that sinking ship, Deb learns, is Keller.

As Deb and Keller’s troubled histories collide in this “original and entirely authentic love story” (Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project), Midge Raymond takes us on an unforgettable voyage deep into the wonders of the Antarctic and the mysteries of the human heart. My Last Continent is “a sensitive exploration of how the smallest action can ripple through an ecosystem—seemingly impenetrable, but as fragile as the human heart” (The Minneapolis Star-Tribune). “Atmospheric and adventurous…The story and vivid writing will keep readers glued to the pages” (Library Journal).


Hardcore Twenty-Four by Janet Evanovich

I’m still trying to catch up on the Stephanie Plum series, but my next one will fulfill the “read a book from a series with more than 20 books” prompt on my challenge.

Synopsis:

Trouble comes in bunches for Stephanie Plum. First, professional grave robber and semi-professional loon, Simon Diggery, won’t let her take him in until she agrees to care for his boa constrictor, Ethel. Stephanie’s main qualification for babysitting an extremely large snake is that she owns a stun gun—whether that’s for use on the wandering serpent or the petrified neighbors remains to be seen.

Events take a dark turn when headless bodies start appearing across town. At first, it’s just corpses from a funeral home and the morgue that have had the heads removed. But when a homeless man is murdered and dumped behind a church Stephanie knows that she’s the only one with a prayer of catching this killer.

If all that’s not enough, Diesel’s back in town. The 6-foot-tall, blonde-haired hunk is a man who accepts no limits—that includes locked doors, closed windows and underwear. Trenton’s hottest cop, Joe Morelli isn’t pleased at this unexpected arrival nor is Ranger, the high-powered security consultant who has his own plans for Stephanie.

As usual Jersey’s favorite bounty hunter is stuck in the middle with more questions than answers. What’s the deal with Grandma Mazur’s latest online paramour? Who is behind the startling epidemic of mutilated corpses? And is the enigmatic Diesel’s sudden appearance a coincidence or the cause of recent deadly events?


Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen

My last ARC of the year is one I received from Algonquin Books. I’ve been excited to get to this one set in Ireland.

Synopsis:

“Darkly hilarious . . . Wildly entertaining.” —The Guardian

Meet Majella O’Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls

Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors’ stares and the gossips of the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up just after the Troubles. She lives a quiet life caring for her alcoholic mother, working in the local chip shop, watching the regular customers come and go. She wears the same clothes each day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, microwaved at home after her shift ends), and binge-watches old DVDs of the same show (Dallas, best show on TV) from the comfort of her bed. 

But underneath Majella’s seemingly ordinary life are the facts that she doesn’t know where her father is and that every person in her town has been changed by the lingering divide between Protestants and Catholics. When Majella’s predictable existence is upended by the death of her granny, she comes to realize there may be more to life than the gossips of Aghybogey, the pub, and the chip shop. In fact, there just may be a whole big world outside her small town. 

Told in a highly original voice, with a captivating heroine readers will love and root for, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

12/1/20

Do we share any books on our TBRs? Have you read any of these books yet? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Wandering!

5 thoughts on “My November TBR”

  1. I liked Slasher Girls and Monster Boys. Hope NaNo is going well for you! I’m happy that I finished rereading A Reaper at the Gates last month; I often have a book I’m rereading, but I’m cutting down on my planned reading so I can get those 1666 words a day in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *