Goodreads Monday

Goodreads Monday: The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, you choose a random book off your Goodreads TBR to highlight.

Title: The Saturday Night Ghost Club
Author: Craig Davidson
Genre: Horror, Young Adult, Fiction
Published On: August 14, 2018
Publisher: Knopf Canada
Pages: 253

Synopsis: A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of “Stranger Things” and “Stand by Me” about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends.

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls–a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place–Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the “Saturday Night Ghost Club.” But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly lighthearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become.

My thoughts

I came across this one recently recommended for fans of Stranger Things, which we are. So I immediately located a copy for me and my kids. Unfortunately, no one in my family has read it yet, but I’m hoping to get to it soon. This one sounds perfect for Halloween!

Let me know if you’ve read this one and what you thought about it!

Happy Wandering!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *