ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin

Title: Saint XAuthor: Alexis SchaitkinGenre: Literary Fiction, ThrillerPublished On: February 18, 2020Publisher: Celadon BooksSource: PhysicalPages: 352 Synopsis: Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in …

Continue Reading
ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Title: In Five YearsAuthor: Rebecca SerleGenre: Contemporary, Magical RealismPublished On: March 10, 2020Publisher: Atria BooksSource: EbookPages: 272 Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.  Where do you see yourself in five years? When …

Continue Reading
ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: The Light After the War

Title: The Light After the WarAuthor: Anita AbrielGenre: Historical Fiction, RomancePublished On: February 4, 2020Publisher: Atria BooksSource: EbookPages: 320 Synopsis: Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples …

Continue Reading
ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Title: Things in JarsAuthor: Jess KiddGenre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, FantasyPublished On: February 4, 2020Publisher: Atria BooksSource: EbookPages: 384 Synopsis: In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for …

Continue Reading
ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

Title: The Little Bookshop on the SeineAuthor: Rebecca RaisinGenre: Romance, HolidayPublished On: January 7, 2020Publisher: HarlequinSource: EbookPages: 416 Synopsis: It’s The Holiday on the Champs-Élysées in a great big love letter to Paris, charming old bookstores and happily-ever-afters! When bookshop owner Sarah Smith is offered the opportunity for a job exchange with her Parisian friend Sophie, saying …

Continue Reading
ARC Review Book Review

ARC Book Review: Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain

Title: Big Lies in a Small TownAuthor: Diane ChamberlainGenre: Historical FictionPublished On: January 14, 2020Publisher: St. Martin’s PressPages: 400 Synopsis: North Carolina, 2018: Morgan Christopher’s life has been derailed. Taking the fall for a crime she did not commit, she finds herself serving a three-year stint in the North Carolina Women’s Correctional Center. Her dream …

Continue Reading
Book Review

Book Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely (Cursebreakers #1)Author: Brigid KemmererGenre: Young Adult, FantasyPublished On: January 29, 2019Publisher: Bloomsbury YAPages: 484 Synopsis: Fall in love, break the curse. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year, Prince Rhen, the heir of Emberfall, thought he could be saved easily if a …

Continue Reading
Book Review

Book Review: The Winter Series by Elin Hilderbrand

Title: Winter Street, Winter Stroll, Winter Storms, Winter SolsticeAuthor: Elin HilderbrandGenre: Holiday, Women’s FictionPublished On: Oct. 14, 2014; Oct. 13, 2015; Oct. 4, 2016; Oct. 3, 2017Publisher: Little, Brown and CompanyPages: 249, 263, 246, 262 Winter Street* Synopsis: Kelley Quinn is the owner of Nantucket’s Winter Street Inn and the proud father of four, all …

Continue Reading
Book Review

Book Review: Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: Call Down the HawkAuthor: Maggie StiefvaterGenre: Young Adult, FantasyPublished On: November 5, 2019Publisher: Scholastic PressPages: 472 Synopsis: The dreamers walk among us . . . and so do the dreamed. Those who dream cannot stop dreaming – they can only try to control it. Those who are dreamed cannot have their own lives – …

Continue Reading